Making my day

I can all but guarantee that your Monday will be improved by reading Deb (About.Com) Aoki’s expanded transcript of the Moto Hagio panel from this year’s Comic-Con International. She talks about her career, her individual works, and manga in general. It’s hard to pick a quote that I like best, so I’ll pick the one that makes my head spin at the creative possibilities:

“I recently saw Henry VI by Shakespeare, and found that to be very inspiring. In Shakespeare, the stories tend to focus around the men, but there’s not a lot in these stories about the women. I’m interested in telling the stories about the women.”

I would now like an entire book of comics featuring Hagio’s take on the women of Shakespeare’s plays.

7 Responses to Making my day

  1. Erica says:

    I had the exact same thought.

    • davidpwelsh says:

      My first choice would be Regan and Goneril from King Lear, but I’d also love to see her take on Kate, maybe ten years after the end of Taming of the Shrew.

  2. Eric Henwood-Greer says:

    Definitely made facing the start of another week, more tolerable. Great read! A few small things the anal side of me wonders about (They Were 11 ran in Shoujo Comic–did it really win the *shonen* manga category prize?), but… It’s interesting how she contrasts Takemiya’s manga to hers. I’ve always thought that, while doing many of the same themes (Sci-fi, boys love in a European boarding school…) there’s a definite difference in tone, with Hagio’s work maybe being more internal and Takemiya’s a bit more obvious and external. But I’m not sure I’d call her characters eternally sunny as Hagio seems to see them.

  3. James Moar says:

    It looks like it won the award in what was then the shonen and shojo manga category. Could be taken from the English Wikipedia page, which contradicts the Japanese one on this point.

    • davidpwelsh says:

      I would guess that there was a youth category before there were specific shounen and shoujo prizes, but that’s just a guess.

      • James Moar says:

        Yeah, the Japanese page says there was a “shonenshojo” category 1975-82, which split after that (and which was split out of a general category beforehand).

  4. Eric Henwood-Greer says:

    That would make sense. I always found it kinda neat (since they’re my two fave manga-kas) that Hagio won in the same year for Poe Family and They Were 11, and then a couple of years later Takemiya won the same award for both her Kaze to Kino Uta and Terra E.

