Open thread: Kodansha requests

Count me among those who were disappointed that Kodansha canceled its panel at this year’s New York Comic-Con and Anime Festival. It offered a bit of hope that the publisher’s torturously slow U.S. rollout might pick up some momentum and that we might get some concrete indications of what would happen next.

I’ve devoted a number of these license requests to Kodansha titles. They’ve featured demon kids, magic girls, economists, Vikings, foodies, sommeliers, Borgias, supreme beings, salarywomen, eggplants, Tezuka, post-apocalyptic diners, and many other types and topics.

This Friday, I thought I’d open it up to your Kodansha wishes. What as-yet-unpublished titles would you like to see licensed? What previously published titles would you like to see rescued from out-of-print limbo?

24 Responses to Open thread: Kodansha requests

  1. gynocrat says:

    Anything from Kiss magazine would be nice. Perhaps serializing some of those serials in US women’s magazines…?

    • davidpwelsh says:

      That’s the magazine that runs Kuragehime, right? Lots of demand for that one, I think.

      • Eric Henwood-Greer says:

        And I suspect that since it’s going to be the featured anime on the Noitamina josei/seinen programming block, now that House of Five Leaves is over (which also means it should be officially available subtitled in English on youtube thanks to the Funimation deal). Anyway, regardless–I’d love to see it translated.

  2. Jacob Martin says:

    I would like to see the old Genshiken released with the new chapters that came afterwards added into the series as it progresses. Genshiken is one of my favourite manga of all time, I enjoyed reading it and have all the volumes. But I’d like to see Genshiken II with Ogi’s further adventures.

  3. Anna says:

    I would dearly love Sailor Moon omnibus editions. But somehow I doubt that will happen. I would also love to read Vinland Saga.

  4. I don’t even have to think about this. I want the last three volumes of Rave Master, and I want them to finish publishing Beck.

  5. Katherine says:

    Sailor Moon, Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou, Octave, and Kinou Nani Tabeta?

  6. Matthew says:

    Vikings? That means Vinland Saga right? I want that book.
    Maybe Say Hello To Black Jack? I’m curious about it and wikipedia indicates they publish it.

  7. Rij says:

    Can we have Tramps Like Us back in print, please

    As for the unlicensed:

    Kinou Nani Tabeta
    Vinland Saga
    Ookiku Furikabutte
    Saint Young Men
    Cesare

    please please please please
    Not that I’m actually holding my breath. I just wish Kodansha would actually do something or even say something.

  8. A reissue:
    I’ve mentioned this elsewhere on your blog, I think, but I’d love to see Sailor Moon reissued with the swanky new anniversary editions (and their gorgeous new covers).

    A rescue:
    I’d love to see GetBackers finished.

    The unlicensed:
    * Kinou Nani Tabeta? (I must believe that people have tried to license this and been rebuffed, ‘cos come on.)
    * Hataraki Man
    * Hotaru no Hikari (looks like it might appeal to the Butterflies, Flowers crowd)
    * Anna-san no Omame (seems to feature an amusingly deluded heroine)

  9. hniu says:

    Historie
    Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou
    Billy Bat
    Devilman

  10. I’d love to see a lot of the things everyone’s been suggesting so far, but also Extra Heavy Syrup by Yayoi Ogawa.

  11. Allt says:

    I’d like to see these published:

    Ookiku Furikabutte
    Saint Young Men

    And these rescued/re-published:

    Sailor Moon
    Love Attack

  12. Aexial says:

    Unlicensed:

    Suki-tte Ii na yo by Kanae Hazuki( it’s pretty popular so far, since it’s been on the Japanese comic Ranking for quite a long time now:)

    Kin Kyori Renai by Rin Mikimoto ( also something doing well on the Japanese Comic Ranking charts :D)

    Cosplay Animal by Watari Sakou ( I might as well just say that most of these unpublished titles are from the Japanese Comic Rankings :”D)

    Watashi ni xx Shinasai! by Ema Tooyama ( I swear this is the best shoujo Ema has made, even better than, ” I am here”, in my opinion!:O)

    The cycle of licensing almost everything made by Fumi Yoshinaga cannot be stopped, so I would place my money on it continuing with Kinou Nani Tabeta!!!

    Rescue Requests:

    I second getting Love Attack back.
    I want to know what Sailor Moon looks like in it’s vibrant iridescent glory.

  13. Myk says:

    Alive: The Final Evolution.

    I need them, or someone, to finish that series. That´s all from me.

  14. Eric Henwood-Greer says:

    I’d love to see those deluxe Sailor Moon volumes as well–Hell any Sailor Moon. So many fans, especially of my generation, really got into anime/manga thanks to Sailor Moon, that I suspect a high quality version would sell well enough. I’d also really like the original series, Sailor V, published (I think all three volumes were recently reprinted in one big vol to correspond with the anniversary Moon editions). It’s sillier, but a lot of fun.

    Much more of a pipe dream, but howabout some shoujo classics? Waki Yamato’s Haikara-san ga Tōru for one (the other day I spent hours watching clips from the anime version on youtube–if anything it seems like it was even more popular in Italy).

    Or Yoko Shoji’s Seito Shokun (which ran nearly a decade and was popular enough to have inspired a tv drama just a few years back–some 30 years after the manga started). Wiki claims that Carl Horn said it was the second shoujo manga, after Schodt’s edited two Versailles volumes, to be translated into English, but I’ve never encountered it. Currentlya sequel series is running (and seems to be as popular as the first, with 18+ vols).

    Of course I’d be happy with any works from either of these manga-ka, but those seem the most likely…

    Going back even older, I’m a bit obsessed with Mizuno Hideko’s classic manga–ever since picking up bunkos of her sex, drugs and rock ‘n roll 60s shoujo epic, Fire! That brilliant title (which I’d kill to see translated) isn’t Kodansha, but some of her even older work is. After looking at her subject matter, and art and layout, I have no doubt that she’s perhaps (aside from Tezuka) the most influential manga-ka to the later Year 24 (or 49ers) group, particularly Moto Hagio. Kodansha recently republished her 1960 historical-fantasy work Hoshi no Tategoto which is a title Hagio mentions specifically in the full version of that Matt Thorn interview. Going back even further to ther 50s is the somewhat wonderfully whacked out sounding, Gin no Hanabira. It seems that soon after she left Shoujo Club and Kodansha for Shueisa and Margaret although Kodansha recently reprinted her mid 50s Margaret title, the wonderfully over the top Russian tale of Shiroi Toroika themselves. (This is the only decent English link with info on the titles http://www.callenreese.com/mizunonewbooks.html and some wonderful pictures.)

    And of course, there’s always the grandaddy (grandmama?) of them all, Prince Knight, which, with all the Tezuka we’re getting now, really deserves a proper release (I know about the har dto find bilingual release).

  15. Rex says:

    Currentlyy ongoing shonen titles:

    Ahiru no Sora

    Bloody Monday

    Yankee-kun to Megane-chan

    Light novel( A license is still a license :):

    Bakemonogatari

    Kara no Kyoukai

    Katanagatari

    Peter Pan( Clamp is doing illustrations for this version:D

    And since Kinou Nani Tabeta is a shonen-ai title, I’m up for any of the shonen-ai/yaoi titles Kodansha has to offer!:D

  16. Eric Henwood-Greer says:

    Because I spend way too much time thinking about crap like this, while I should be working, one manga-ka who almost always worked for Kodansha and somehow completely slipped my brain, is one of my fave lesser known Year 24 women, Machiko Satonaka. It’s another long shot, because it is classic shoujo manga, and I know it’s even argued if she is a Year 24 manga-ka (though most seem to include her).

    She’s won nearly every award possible, including the Lifetime Works and Cultural Activities Award. I’ve been intrigued by her since reading about her 1972 manga Ashita Kagayaku in Manga Manga (it, along with Rose of Versailles, was the first truly epic shoujo manga story). That manga is four volumes, not long by modern standards, but she has a slew of award winning titles from 1964 till pretty recently to choose from. Some art at http://www.shoujo-manga.net/gallery/satonaka/

    • Eric Henwood-Greer says:

      Last thought on this thread, I swear. I just realized Satonaka’s “masterpiece”, a 20+ volume, still ongoing, Josei title about the life of the Emperor and Empress Jitou, Tenjou no Niji, has been running in Kiss off and on since 1984. So i guess I agree with the first comment about translating more Kiss titles ^^;;

  17. […] If you’re wondering what North American fans would like to see you license, check out this open thread at The Manga Curmudgeon. That is […]

  18. Allt says:

    I second the call for finishing Alive: the final evolution. Great series!

  19. Sesame says:

    Candy Candy
    Chihayafuru
    Daa! Daa! Daa! & Shin Daa! Daa! Daa!
    Hataraki Man
    Hotaru no Hikari
    Kuragehime
    Sailor Moon

    I realize that most of these titles are pretty old, but…

  20. […] your best-laid plans, you know? I had thought about doing a Friday piece rounding up feedback from last week’s call-out for Kodansha requests, but a comment from JennyN (or “the French Connection,” as I like to think of her) has put that […]

