Pets project

August 24, 2006

While looking through the Flipped archives, I’m starting to worry that I’m leaning too heavily on my personal pet titles. Actually, Dave Carter’s wonderful Undiscovered Gems contest planted that seed, which was then watered by Jarred of MangaCast who pointed out not one but two cooking mangas that had completely escaped my notice.

As a result, I’m hoping to expand my horizons a bit, with your help. Is there a manga title you’re really enjoying now that doesn’t seem to have a seat at the cool kids’ table? That never seems to get reviewed or name-checked in the general discourse? (I’d like to stick with things that are currently and widely in print. As much as I love finding obscure manga, it can be frustrating to see someone talk about a book and have to search high and low for it.)

I can’t guarantee I’ll love it as much as you do, but I promise to give it a shot. Just post the book in the comments section or send me an e-mail at DavidPWelsh at yahoo dot com, and I’ll do my best to work it into the rotation.