Tokyopoll

Over at About.Com, Deb Aoki provides a wrap-up of Tokyopop’s recent webcast, including a list of upcoming new titles and updates about ongoing series. If you’ve got a minute, check Deb’s listings, then take a look at the poll below and click whichever titles sound good to you.

I usually enjoy series that use eateries as a setting, so I’ve got my eye on Kou Matsuzuki’s Happy Café. I’m also a fan of whodunits, so I’ll certainly give Yoshitsugu Katagari’s Kokaku Detective Story a try. Higuchi Tachibana’s Portrait of M & N sounds like it could be really intriguing or go horribly awry. And the prospect of a bishie-infested, eye-rolling take on Wonderland draws me to Alice in the Country of Hearts by quinrose and Hoshino Soumei.

14 Responses to Tokyopoll

  1. JRBrown says:

    Hinako Takanaga trumps all else, so Liberty Liberty! is the number one on my shopping list. After that, Portrait of M & N looks worth a shot, although Kazusa Takashima has done some very good BL, so maybe Mad Love Chase too.

  2. Lorena says:

    I’m looking forward to Happy Cafe, too. It looks cute, the characters sound fun and who doesn’t like food? ^__~

    Of course, I’d rather have them return to some other titles *cough, SUPPLI, cough* if they have the so-called time…

  3. lys says:

    I’m intrigued by the new Alice retelling. That’s always a fun story, and it sounds like this one has some interesting twists.

    Hana to Yume’s shoujo titles are always fun, and I’ve been waiting for M & N for a loooong time! Tachibana Higuchi is pretty awesome at what she does, so I don’t think it will disappoint. I’m very excited for Karakuri Odette and Happy Café as well 😀

    And HaruHana sounds super cute. Tokyopop’s really got a lot of awesome shoujo manga coming up, and I do love shoujo manga!

  4. I feel kind of like an old curmudgeon looking at this list — I wasn’t really excited about any of Tokyopop’s new acquisitions, with the possible exception of Happy Cafe.

  5. davidpwelsh says:

    I kind of know where you’re coming from, Kate. On the one hand, it’s hard to get too excited when there’s been so much great/interesting seinen and even josei stuff announced lately, but I’m still enough of a shojo nerd that my heart could be set aflutter by some of these. And what on earth is wrong with being a curmudgeon?!

  6. Marla says:

    I’m still hung up on a couple of series that they’ve infinitely delayed. Can’t I have the rest of Genju no Seiza instead of yet another cross-dressing/ robot girl/ high school hijinks/ demons-in-the-real-world manga? It is nice to see that another Trinity Blood light novel is being released.

  7. davidpwelsh says:

    Marla: Not to mention (as Lorena did) Suppli. Suppli, Suppli, SUPPLI.

  8. I agree with you, Marla! When I read that long list of new acquisitions, it was like hearing that an old boyfriend was dating again: I knew wasn’t meant to be, but I felt a pang or two that he’d moved on.

  9. I think I’m pinning my hopes on Portrait of M and N, though as you suggest, it could go horribly awry. It sounds the most interesting to me overall, though. Happy Cafe also sounds promising, and okay, I sometimes have a weakness for things like Game X Rush.

  10. I had to vote for Kokaku Detective Agency. None of the other titles really rang my bell. Though I think it’s odd they’re taking on another mystery/detective series when they never finished Kindaichi (Just one vol left!!) I…don’t want to go into all the other titles TP has abandoned on me. It…hurts too much. T__T

  11. Marla says:

    I haven’t picked up Suppli, since by the time I might have, it was put on hold. It’s one thing when the mangaka abandons a series (sadness!), but when the publisher does, it makes me angry. And then I wish I read Japanese and lived near a Kinokuniya.

    I’m pinning my hopes on Yen Press and CMX to bring good stuff over. Viz has my love already.

  12. Sonic2nd says:

    I voted for Liberty Liberty. I recently became a fan of Hinako Takanaga after reading Little Butterfly and I’m looking forward to buying more of her manga in the near future.

  13. davidpwelsh says:

    I’ve always been a little put off by the youthful appearance of one of the protagonists, but I’ve heard so many good things about Little Butterfly that I might have to reconsider.

  14. […] unleashes a couple of the new series it announced at its recent webcast. Minari Endou’s Maria Holic generated a fair amount of interest in the previously linked poll, […]