Flower power

August 17, 2007

As I said in Chris Mautner’s reviewer round-up, I don’t think posting images with reviews is essential, but I do appreciate it when someone does it as well as Shaenon K. Garrity. I appreciate it even more when she puts her skills in service of a book I absolutely love, in this case, Fumi Yoshinaga’s Flower of Life.

I’m kind of disappointed that I rarely see this title on bookstore shelves. There’s almost always at least one copy of at least two volumes of Yoshinaga’s Antique Bakery (as it should be), but that’s rarely the case with Flower. (There is one awesome Borders in downtown DC that was like a Yoshinaga lover’s dream. They had everything.)

Using John Jakala’s method of surveying, I notice that not a single copy of a single volume of the series is available in any of the Pittsburgh Barnes & Noble outlets. Things look better at the Pittsburgh Borders outlets. All five have copies of the first volume; four have the second in stock; only one has copies of the third.