Undercover

December 16, 2009

It’s always easier for me to contribute to someone else’s “Best of” list than to concoct my own, so I was happy to be asked to pitch a title for this roster of the Best Graphic Novels of 2009 over at Flashlight Worthy Book Recommendations. I think it’s a neat mix of comics.


not simple as that

December 16, 2009

Hello, my name is David, and I’m obsessed with Natsume Ono. It’s been zero days since I last thought about how excited I am about the prospect of reading so many of her comics in the coming year. This is partly because I’m feeling validated by the fact that Shaenon Garrity shares my enthusiasm, and by the fact that Viz just sent out a press release about Ono’s upcoming not simple, which Garrity described as “scary good.” Viz sent me a review copy, and “scary good” sums it up nicely. You’ll be able to view a preview at the IKKI site tomorrow (Dec. 17), and I urge you to do so.

Viz’s press release is below.

Read the rest of this entry »


The Shôjo-Sunjeong Alphabet: J

December 16, 2009

“J” is for…

What are some of your favorite shôjo and sunjeong titles that start with the letter “J”?