Another quick creep note

Anne Freaks (ADV) is reviewed in the latest Entertainment Weekly. My memory of EW isn’t exactly encyclopedic, but I think this is the first time they’ve ever profiled a manga title. That’s always struck me as kind of odd for a magazine about popular entertainment.

If you’d asked me which manga title would be the first to land on EW‘s pages, I probably wouldn’t have picked Anne Freaks, no matter how much I like it. It gets a B+, described as “a frantic page-turner,” which is fair enough. The blurb is by Jennifer M. Contino.

Also reviewed is Deogratias: A Tale of Rwanda, which inexplicably gets a B-. Reviewer Whitney Pastorek says the book is “beautifully illustrated” but “lacks subtlety.”

Oh, and EW gets an exclusive from Warner Brothers, which is a huge scoop, seeing as they’re owned by the same company. Anyway, WB is putting together an animated Justice League feature that might be an adaptation of Identity Crisis. Wasn’t it gross enough when the pictures didn’t move?

Perhaps reporter Jeff Jensen’s plea for “No Gleek, please” is really based on fear of precisely what could happen to that poor monkey.

4 Responses to Another quick creep note

  1. John Jakala says:

    This might be the first time EW mentioned manga in its regular pages, but it did profile three manga (Rurouni Kenshin, The Ring, and Joan Book 1) back when comics coverage was regulated to their subscribers-only “Listen2This” supplement. The manga reviews were all written by Jennifer M. Contino back then, too.

  2. David Welsh says:

    Ah! That would explain why I missed it, then, as I usually skipped over Listen2This. Because I’m old.

  3. Charles W. says:

    My understanding is that Paul Levitz announced some direct-to-video animated projects that would adapt DC: New Frontier, the Superman/Doomsday story, and the Judas Contract story from Teen Titans.

    I wouldn’t mind seeing those, especially New Frontier, but I’m not ready for the animated adventure of Tiny Footprints On Her Brain.

  4. David Welsh says:

    I can see New Fronteir working, but wouldn’t Judas Contract be a little redundant? Didn’t the Teen Titans cartoon cover that story fairly faithfully to the comics?