License request day: Otoyomegatari

In Tuesday’s Publishers Weekly Comics Week, Kai-Ming Cha spoke to CMX’s Jim Chadwick about the imminent conclusion of Kaoru Mori’s lovely Emma. It’s a nice appreciation of the series, and I’m pleased to hear that the title “has been CMX’s most popular seller, having gone back to print numerous times, almost more than any other.”

Equally pleasing is the news that “Mori is currently at work on another series, Otoyomegatari, which takes place along the Silk Road trade routes. Chadwick described the series as ‘absolutely stunning. The artworks looks even more detailed than Emma, which is saying a lot.’”

When one is handed the object of a license request, even an obvious, inevitable one, it’s best not to ask questions and just plow forward, you know? Because, based on Emma, I would read a Mori-penned primer on oral hygiene, especially if she included some omake strips. (Mori does the best omake strips. Or at least she does my favorite omake strips.) And I would especially love to read another lavish Mori period piece like Otoyomegatari.

Otoyomegatari1

Otoyomegatari is currently being serialized in Enterbrain’s Fellows! magazine, about which I know next to nothing except that it’s seinen and that Otoyomegatari seems to be the big hit in rotation at the moment, just based on what’s to be seen on the magazine’s web site. There are some amazing videos of Mori drawing and inking pages from the book here. (That will hopefully make up for the fact that I can’t find many page scans to illustrate this request.)

There’s only one volume available to date, but I think fans of Mori’s Emma would probably be willing to tolerate a rather slow release schedule, if it meant getting more Mori. So will CMX manage to nab this one and have a matched Mori set?

“As to whether CMX has plans to acquire the license to Otoyomegatari, Chadwick says that he’d love for the company to continue their association with the artist, but have no comment outside of that. ‘We’ll just have to see what happens,’ He said.”

I hope CMX gets Otoyomegatari, as they were the ones who gave us Emma (and Shirley) in the first place, which is some excellent manga karma that should be rewarded.

10 Responses to License request day: Otoyomegatari

  1. Marla says:

    This is a book I would absolutely love to see get licensed.

    And I am dying to see the cosplay based on it.

  2. davidpwelsh says:

    Oh, wow, I hadn’t even thought of the cosplay.

  3. […] second David Welsh’s request that CMX license Otoyomegatari; it looks utterly […]

  4. I really do hope CMX has the foresight to pick up Otoyomegatari. Afterall, Emma wasn’t popular just because it was a maid story. It was incredibly cute and brought in more than just the typical shojo-loving crowd. From what I’ve read of Otoyomegatari, it has the same appeal. Plus, it’s well-researched and gives real insight into the period she’s drawing about, something the history buff in me loves.

  5. Mekka says:

    Cosplay! That’s the first thing I thought of when I saw the characters’ outfits a few months ago. They’d be tough to pull off (the hairstyles and ornaments!) , but so pretty. This is really an excellent story. I like it better than Emma. The main character appeals to me more than Emma did, because she takes action more often. Every page of this story must take a really long time to draw. The backgrounds make other manga-ka look like total slackers. Please, someone needs to license this when the story is further along.

  6. […] · Leave a Comment Catching up on manga & anime news this past weekend, I came across a blog post with a license request for Otoyomegatari, a new series by Kaoru Mori, who has already had some success in the US. […]

  7. […] not ashamed to admit that the Kelly Stowner shout-outs made me all misty-eyed. Will someone please license Otoyomegatari so I can keep getting my Mori […]

  8. […] By the time the feast focused on Kaoru Mori’s Emma came around, I’d already issued a plea for Otoyomegatari, which is her only other major ongoing work. (Note to self: look into Violet Blossoms at some […]

  9. […] they will be publishing Kaoru (Emma) Mori’s Otoyomegatari, which moves Yen into the august group of publishers who have fulfilled one of my license requests. […]

  10. […] Press has done the manga world a great service by picking up the license for Kaoru (Emma) Mori’s Otoyomegatari, originally published in Enterbrain’s Fellows!, though I’m not sure about its release date […]