Gleekery

April 14, 2010

So Glee is back, and I’m glad. It wasn’t a great episode (too little Quinn and Kurt), but it was nice to see everyone in fresh material. The problem, as I see it, resulted from achieving too much in the previous portion of the season. Remember that Dynasty cliffhanger when they were all at the wedding in Eurotrashia, or wherever, and gunmen mowed down all of the guests, and then when the new season started, everyone got up and brushed themselves off except for the other gay guy?

Basically, the makers of Glee had to push things back to a certain point, leading couples to estrangement so the audience could resume rooting for them to get together and undoing various other plot developments to fuel future events. I remember this sort of thing happening with the season finales on Ryan Murphy’s earlier teen dramedy, Popular. I’m not going to complain too much, because even really good shows have so-so episodes, and it wasn’t like it was “Acafellas” or anything that dire.

I would like to provide nerdish speculation on one plot development, which I will do after noting that I’d never actually watched an episode of American Idol before, and I am unlikely ever to do so again, because that hurt.

Read the rest of this entry »


The Shôjo-Sunjeong Alphabet: Z

April 14, 2010

“Z” is for…

What are some of your favorite shôjo and sunjeong titles that start with the letter “Z”?

And, in the interest of thoroughness, I’ll post a round-up of titles with numerical beginnings (actual numbers, not numbers spelled out as words), so please feel free to pitch your favorites to make sure I don’t miss any.