Feasting on Fumi

July 19, 2010

Anyone who’s read this blog for any length of time knows that I’m a huge fan of Fumi Yoshinaga, so I’m delighted to point you over to The Manga Bookshelf, which is observing Fumi Yoshinaga Week! Melinda Beasi kicks things off right with a review of Flower of Life (DMP) , which may just be the Yoshinaga series I like best. (I’m not going to say it’s Yoshinaga’s best work, but it’s the comic of hers that makes me smile most frequently and the one I’m most likely to reread when I need a boost.)

Perhaps some kind publisher will announce the licensing of Yoshinaga’s What Did You Eat Yesterday? It’s a Kodansha title, and they’ve been rather tight-fisted with their properties of late (or at least since they announced their direct entry into the market, which is either ironic or perverse, depending on your point of view).

Of course, we can all at least look forward to the November release of Not Love But Delicious Food from Yen Press. And, awkward Fakespearean adaptation aside, we can continue to enjoy Yoshinaga’s award-winning Ôoku: The Inner Chambers from Viz’s Signature imprint. The fourth volume will arrive in August.